top of page
Search

CRL WORLD FINALS - PREVIEW DAY TWO


My English teacher in year 11, the great Mr George Rice, told me that I should never start a sentence with a conjunction. Sometimes you just gotta break the rules, and, well, I'm good at that. AND THEN THERE WERE SIXTEEN... One of the things I loved the most about day one is everything which happened on social media after day one ended. From the tears, the post-mortems, the acts of class, it's all this stuff which makes these World Finals THE event on the CR calendar. After his initial meltdown, we haven't seen Lucas. Some rumours suggest he is wandering the Amazon, looking for himself, or Jesus, but a very good source of mine tells me that he's practising Golem to finally convert to a beatdown player. Unfortunately he has a lot of Xs next to his name, so getting into the brotherhood will not be a walk in the park for him. I'm going to need to see at least 1,000 Golem first plays and an additional 2,000 three crowns with Golem Clone before I will even consider it. The cycle filth is hard to clean out of a player's DNA. You can't just wash it away, like your sins, with a quick couple of Hail Marys and an Our Father. As for Anaban, he needs to regain the faith of his support army, who actually believe he's the greatest player in the world, so he's been busy working on the Twitter and Insta accounts of his new girlfriend, whom he will reveal soon. The great Surgical Goblin received a phone call soon after day one ended. It was from Ruben, "So Frank, tell me about this Fortnite thing" But I digress (Sorry, Mr Rice) We're here to talk about day two and not our fallen heroes. So let's get stuck into the matches. MOMO SALAH vs MINI We all know matchmaking is rigged, right? That's why two of my favourite bois have been pitted against each other. The good news is that we are now in a double elimination bracket, so the loser gets a second chance. As much as I rate Mini and as much as I think he's in form, how can I tip against Mo? Like my good looks, he just gets better with age. I've already penciled him as the world champ for the next 3 years. There just aren't any weaknesses, not in his game play and certainly not in his mental side. The only positive I can give Mini is that I believe only four of the remaining players can beat Mo, if they do everything right, and Mini is one of them. Great start to day two. CAPTAIN MORTS OF THE USS ENTERPRISE vs THE CHAMP One of the first things I filled out on my World's Bingo Card was Rich Slaton saying "storied". You can bank on it coming out again for this contest as two of the most storied players in the history of the game battle it out. This match is the dessert on tonight's menu. I know I will be playing very close attention because these two guys are only about 25 years away from making their debut in the over 50s league, which I have dominated with 61 straight No #1 finishes on ladder. If this were a battle of style, Captain Morts with his Star Trek vest would win easily since Lciop is still wearing his jacket from 2017. I hope he's doing it for luck, but my gut feeling is that money might be a wee bit tight in the NOVA camp ever since the cheap gems dried up. Earlier today I said it was stupid of me to tip against a champ. Well, I guess I'm stupid because I'm doing it again. I'll go with Captain Morts. ICE VEINS HAJIME vs EGORKATI I've always said that in one of his old CRL pics, Hajime looks like Mike Wazowski from Monster's Inc, so I can understand his reluctance to be on cam, but I hope in the name of fairness, that issue is resolved tonight. I know you can see it too...

The only reason Hajime isn't going to get voted the prettiest man at Worlds is because Ah Craaaap has the advantage of make-up. Plus SML is on the voting panel As far as tipping is concerned, I'm finding it hard to go past Egor. On the evidence of last night, the real Egor is back. SAMMY vs SURG It's about this time of the night that I begin to get tired watching the coverage, and to be honest, there's a good chance this one might put me to sleep. Aside from a massive Brazilian audience, there's no real reason for anyone else to get excited about this match up on paper. It's hard to judge on form too. Sammy basically had a bye against Stoned Bobbo, and Surg was going home till KK self destructed. I'm going to trust my gut instinct on this one and tip Surg. I just keep getting this feeling that he is going to do well at this tourney. THE HANDSOME ANABAN vs LINE What kind of name is Line? How in the hell am I supposed to give him a funny nickname from that? I'm gonna throw this one back to you guys. On my Twitter post about this blog, give me your ideas. The best suggestion will get 47c in cold hard cash paid into their paypal account. Since the departure of Keefy, I've jumped on The Handsome Anaban underdog bandwagon. Thing is, this bloke is actually playing some really good CR right now, but more importantly, he's got balls. He legit ran Xbox against Lucas and was incredibly relaxed in the process. Most rookies would have been generating enough sweat in their loins to attract stray cats to their bedroom window, but not Halsiel. The thing is, Line just wins in big tournaments, so I'm picking him. VITOR vs MICHY, SANDBOX vs GROMIT, KUNTA KINTE vs THE BOWL. I have to cheat a bit now because I'm running out of time. Blame CWA. I got caught up watching his balance changes video. I'm happy with them because most of them benefit Golem, but at the same time, Exe and Dart scare me a bit. Okay, my tips... Vitor, Gromit and The Bowl. Sorry about the crappy ending but time was not my friend today. Thanks for reading anyway, Gramps.

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page